News

The Official Royal Wedding Schedule Is Here

05/05/2018

We’re officially two weeks and one day away from the wedding of the decade, and final plans for the royal nuptials of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle are quickly coming together. Today, Kensington Palace released details about exactly what to expect from the big day, and we’re breaking it all down so you can plan your viewing party accordingly.

Friday, May 18

Early evening: Markle will arrive at her “accomodation” where she’ll spend the night before her wedding. The Duchess of Cambridge stayed at the Goring Hotel with her family the night before her wedding, and greeted well-wishers when she arrived at the London hotel with her mother and sister that evening.

 

Saturday, May 19

9:00 AM GMT (4:00 AM EST): The 1,200 members of the public invited to stand inside the grounds of Windsor Castle will begin to arrive and take their places. These people were invited to attend specifically in thanks for “their work supporting their communities.”

9:30-11 AM GMT (4:30-6 AM EST): The 600 guests invited to attend the ceremony inside St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle will arrive by bus and enter through the chapel’s South Door.

11:20 AM GMT (6:20 AM EST): The royal family will arrive either by car or on foot and enter the chapel through the Galilee Porch.

Prince Harry and Prince William will walk to St. George’s Chapel and greet the 200 guests from Prince Harry’s charities in the Horseshoe Cloister at the bottom of the West Steps, which they’ll then take to enter the chapel.

Around the same time, Markle will leave her overnight accommodation with her mother, Doria Ragland, and the two will drive to Windsor Castle through the Long Walk in order to wave to public well-wishers. The car will drop off Ragland so she can enter the chapel ahead of her daughter.

After dropping off her mother, Markle will meet with her bridesmaids and page boys before continuing to the West Steps, where she’ll enter the chapel and walk down the aisle with her father, Thomas Markle.

12 PM GMT (7 AM EST): The ceremony will begin at St. George’s Chapel, where the Dean of Windsor will conduct the service and the Archbishop of Canterbury will officiate the vows. The ceremony will last an hour, with Kensington Palace set to announce more details in the weeks leading up to the big day.

1 PM GMT (8 AM EST): The ceremony will conclude and Prince Harry and Markle will exit the church and greet the guests from the prince’s charities in the cloister. “The couple are delighted that these people who will be such an important part of their official work in the years to come will be the first people they see after their wedding,” the prince’s representative said in a statement.

The newlyweds will then enter the Ascot Landau carriage for a 25-minute procession through Windsor Town, as members of the royal family watch from the West Steps of the chapel. During the procession, the rest of the guests will walk from the chapel to the luncheon at St. George’s Hall.

TBD: The final public celebration of the day will consist of Prince Harry and Markle leaving Windsor Castle for the evening event at Frogmore House, a seven-minute drive from the castle.

The couple will spend their wedding night at Windsor Castle, according to royal reporter Hannah Furness. They couple won’t honeymoon right away, and instead plan to carry out their first public engagement as husband and wife just days after the wedding.

 

From: Harper’s Bazaar

 

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: